Bosco blitz ’Clone to win league title

Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Bosco blitz ’Clone to win league title thumbnailNEWRY Bosco, with manager Larry McAlinden and assistant manager Kieran McDevitt, celebrate beating Annaclone and winning the South Down U11 League Division 2A trophy

NEWRY Bosco played stunning stuff to defeat Annaclone in the South Down U11 2A League final. On Sunday morning at St Patrick's School pitch in the Meadow they were convincing victors with a colossal 9-05 to 1-09 scoreline.

Bosco ...9-05
Annaclone ...1-09

There were huge celebrations for the city side after Damian Brady presented the New Mourne Trophy Shield to joint Bosco captains Caomhan McMurray and Dezi McAleavey.

Manager Larry McAlinden was a proud man as he saw his side give a display of skill, guts and an unbelievable exhibition of goal-scoring. He told the Democrat: "After the heartbreak of last year when we narrowly lost out, it was a great achievement for a very young side. In fact most of the team are underage next year as well."

The Newry side got off to a super start with the outstanding Matthew Preece-McLoughlin netting twice in the opening six minutes. And indeed at the break the Bosco led by 5-01 to 0-3, Aaron Carroll, Rory O'Connor and David Toner each also finding the net.

David Toner got the second half off to a great start too with two fine points and a brilliant goal from fully 20 yards that curled in under the bar with the Clone keeper helpless.

Then on 29 minutes Preece-McLoughlin completed his hat-trick with a fantastic goal from way out on the right flank while Aaron Carroll added another three pointer.

And in the last few minutes Darragh og McCoy scrambled home a late goal.

On the other hand Annaclone worked hard with Aidan McGivern (0-2) and Darragh Greenan pointing in the first half and in the second half James Keenan netting from a penalty kick and pointing trice. The other Clone scorer was the talented Ciaran McNeill who fired over the bar three times.

But the day belonged to the yellow and blue-shirted Newry Bosco who had a magnificent victory over a hard-working Annaclone side.


BOSCO: JP Darragh, Oran McCoy, Ben Cinnamond, Aaron Downey, Dezi McAleavey, Darragh og McCoy (1-0), Caomhan McMurray, Rory O'Connor (1-0), Tiarnan Brown, Matthew Preece-McLoughlin (3-01), David Toner (2-03), Aaron Carroll (2-0), Finn McCaul (0-1), Joe McKay, Kayla Gartland, Gerard McEvoy and Oisin Hardy.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete