Shooting Stars stun leaders

Tuesday, 24 October 2017

CWC ...2 CWC Stars ...4


CWC Stars enjoyed a well deserved victory over table-toppers and stable-mates CWC in the Newry Blackball League to open the league wide open.

The League was started to hold a pool competition with the internationally and uniformed pool rules and it was the Stars that were the surprise package on Thursday.

Sean McArdle defeated former South Armagh Pool individual champion Larry McAlinden 2-0 to give Stars the early lead, but Decky McMahon squared matters up with a 2-0 win over Miceal Fearon.

But the Stars edged ahead with Jack O'Callaghan's hard fought 2-1 win over Jack Courtney and then Aaron O'Callaghan stretched that lead, also with a 2-1 win over Terry McNally. But it was Dairmaid Fee's 2-0 win over Martin McClelland that confirmed CWC Stars win with Tucker Hughes picking up a consolation win.


CWC: Decky McMahon, Tucker Hughes. CWC Stars: Sean McArdle, Jack O'Callaghan, Aaron O'Callaghan, Diarmaid Fee.




Q Club ...2 Carrickcruppen B ...4

CARRICKCRUPPEN B enjoyed a comfortable win over bottom team Q Club in the third week of the Newry Blackball League.

Q Club actually got off to a perfect start with Shane Durnin overcoming Barry Cummins 2-0, but that proved to be a false dawn as the Camlough men rallied with Barry McAllister and Paul Hughes putting the B side in front. However, Jamie McManus won the fourth contest to level the scores at 2-2 but it was Carrickcruppen who finished strongly with Johnny McCreesh and Pat Byrne both winning the games 2-1, over Johnny Tumilty and Johnny Carroll respectively.

Q Club: Shane Durnin, Jamie McManus. Carrickcruppen B: Barry McAllister, Paul Hughes, Johnny McCreesh, Pat Byrne.


Carrickcruppen A ...3 Cue Club A ...3

CIARAN Hanna rescued a valuable point for Carrickcruppen A in Thursday's clash with Cue Club A.

Games went tit for tat with the south Armagh men winning the opening games through Stephen Lavelle. But the sides were level with Niall O'Hare getting the Cue Club off the mark. Kieran Hanna swung the game back in Cruppen's favour with a 2-1 win over Gavin McNally but Noel Meara restored parity for the Newry men following his 2-1 victory against Aaron O'Callaghan. And when Michael Ward gave Cue Club A the lead for the first time they looked set for maximum points but Hanna had different ideas and his 2-0 win secured a point for both teams.

Carrickcruppen A: Kieran Hanna, Jamie Lavelle, Ciaran Hanna. Cue Club A: Niall O'Hare, Noel Meara.


TJ'S A ...5 Granvue ...1

TJ'S A closed in on the table-toppers following their convincing win over the lowly positioned Granvue.

The result was never in doubt with Steve Noade, Sean McDonald and Manny Byrne giving TJ's a 3-0 lead but Shane Feehan stalled the ball, if only temporarily to give Granvue their sole win, before Tristy Byrne and Paul O'Callaghan completed TJ's comfortable win.

TJ's A: Steve Noade, Sean McDonald, Manny Byrne, Tristy Byrne, Paul O'Callaghan. Granvue: Shane Feehan.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete