Candidates confirmed for council election

Michael Scott


Michael Scott


THE full list of candidates for the forthcoming council elections has been published.

A total of 71 candidates will be looking for your vote, with 41 seats up for grabs on Newry Mourne and Down District Council.

The election takes place on Thursday, May 2.

They are, in alphabetical order:

CROTLIEVE (six to be elected from):

Jim Boylan (Independent)

Michael Carr (SDLP)

Mark Gibbons (Independent)

Joshua Lowry (UUP)

Declan McAteer (SDLP)

Wilma McCullough (DUP)

Lorcán McGreevy (Alliance)

Karen McKevitt (SDLP)

Oksana McMahon (Sinn Féin)

Gerry O'Hare (Sinn Féin)

Mickey Ruane (Sinn Féin)

Jarlath Tinnelly (Independent)

Mary Tinnelly (Sinn Féin)

NEWRY (six to be elected from):

Charlie Casey (Sinn Féin)

Valerie Harte (Sinn Féin)

Liz Kimmins (Sinn Féin)

Gavin Malone (Independent)

Sarah Jane McAllister (Sinn Féin)

Ricky McGaffin (UUP)

Michael Savage (SDLP)

Gary Stokes (SDLP)

Helena Young (Alliance)

SLIEVE GULLION (seven to be elected from):

Pete Byrne (SDLP)

Balázs Gazdag (Alliance)

Terry Hearty (Sinn Féin)

Linda Henry (DUP)

Mickey Larkin (Sinn Féin)

Kate Loughrin (SDLP)

Oonagh Magennis (Sinn Féin)

Roisin Mulgrew (Sinn Féin)

Barra Ó Muirí (Sinn Fein)

David Taylor (UUP)

DOWNPATRICK (five to be elected from):

Alex Burgess (UUP)

Dermot Curran (SDLP)

Macartán Digney (Aontú)

Cadogan Enright (Independent)

Oonagh Hanlon (Sinn Féin)

Jamie Kennedy (Green Party Northern Ireland)

Tiernan Laird (Alliance)

Jordan Madden (Sinn Féin)

James Savage (DUP)

Gareth Sharvin (SDLP)

John Trainor (SDLP)

ROWALLANE (five to be elected from):

Terry Andrews (SDLP)

Patrick Brown (Alliance)

Robert Burgess (UUP)

Emma Cairns (Green Party Northern Ireland)

Marianne Cleary (Sinn Féin)

Harry Harvey (DUP)

Walter Lyons (UUP)

Liam Mulhern (Aontú)

Martyn Todd (Independent)

William Walker (DUP)

SLIEVE CROOB (five to be elected from)

Gregory Bain (Alliance)

Hugh Gallagher (SDLP)

Maynard Hanna (DUP)

Tracy Harkin (Aontú)

Roisin Howell (Sinn Féin)

Alan Lewis (UUP)

Cathy Mason (Sinn Féin)

Mark Murnin (SDLP)

John Rice (Sinn Féin)

THE MOURNES (seven to be elected from)

Willie Clarke (Sinn Féin)

Laura Devlin (SDLP)

Sean Doran (Sinn Féin)

Glyn Hanna (DUP)

Leeanne McEvoy (Sinn Féin)

Harold McKee (UUP)

Andrew McMurray (Alliance)

Brian Quinn (SDLP)

Henry Reilly

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on Alpha Newspaper Group

Characters left: 1500